Facebook Pixel Image


  • The Cycling Hall of Fame 2019 – Vote on the shortlist

    Posted on

    It’s time for you to vote for the next three who will be inducted into the Cycling Hall of Fame at the 2019 Rouleur Classic.

    Photographs: Matt Ben Stone / Offside-L'Equipe
    Cycling hall of fame

    The 2018 Rouleur Classic in London saw Eddy Merckx and Beryl Burton, two undoubted legends of the sport, inducted into the inaugural Cycling Hall of Fame.


    Joining the two greats was Ernesto Colnago, recipient of the Patron award, presented for services to the sport of cycling for producing some of the finest bikes on the planet for over sixty years.

    Read: Merckx, Burton and Colnago inducted into the Cycling Hall of Fame


    For the 2019 Rouleur Classic (October 31 – November 2) our panel has drawn up a shortlist of contenders from the world of cycling.


    From the great Fausto Coppi to the all-conquering Marianne Vos to the pioneering Tullio Campagnolo, we have picked a group of amazing people who all deserve inclusion this time round – but only three can be inducted…


    And this is where you come in. Over the coming months, Rouleur’s editorial staff will champion their personal favourites for receiving the awards: how Greg LeMond opened the eyes of America to bike racing; how the ‘Blond Bombshell from Bournemouth’ Marguerite Wilson held every British long-distance record in existence; how the unique vocal delivery of Daniel Mangeas became synonymous with the Tour de France.


    Vote for your own personal favourites from the three shortlists below. One lucky winner will attend the opening night of the Rouleur Classic in London on Thursday, October 31 and see the awards ceremony in person.



    Fausto Coppi
    Bradley Wiggins
    Bernard Hinault
    Jacques Anquetil
    Greg LeMond
    Francesco Moser


    (Vote below)



    Cycling Hall of Fame Women


    Marianne Vos
    Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli
    Marguerite Wilson
    Nicole Cooke
    Leontien Van Moorsel
    Kristin Armstrong


    (Vote below)



    Tullio Campagnolo
    Monty Young – Condor Cycles
    Daniel Mangeas
    Patrick Lefevere
    Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen
    Henri Desgrange


    (Vote below)


    Vote on the 2019 Cycling Hall of Fame inductees

    6 thoughts on “The Cycling Hall of Fame 2019 – Vote on the shortlist”

    1. Perhaps, given recent events you might consider removing Patrick Lefevere from the list.

    2. delighted 2 see beryl was inducted into the hall of fame (but) surprised that marguerite wilson had been nominated !! & not eileen sheriden!?

    3. It is remarkable that Alfredo Binda is not on your list, as he is the only rider in the history of cycling to have dominated the sport on a level comparable with Merckx and arguably even more. Also surprised not to see Costante Girardengo, the first ever “Campionissimo”. Both of these legends of the sport were far greater and more successful than the likes of Moser!

    4. Very hard to choose, all greats of cycling obviously. The greatest ‘patrons’ the hardest to choose, as they work behind the scenes, but Tulio Campagnolo must be one of the greats, given the quality of the components his firm produced, and the innovation with which he drove cycling technology forward.

    Leave a Reply

    Your e-mail address will not be published.