Facebook Pixel Image

1 Awards 2014

Posted on

The 1 Awards recognise the best riders and performances from the 2014 professional road racing season – with a twist.
The winners will be chosen by a select panel of judges, comprising some of the finest former riders and most experienced minds in the world of professional cycling.
How it works
Each judge selects a winner and honourable mentions in each of the eight categories. The rider with the most votes is the eventual winner.
Over the next few weeks, we will be publishing a selection of judge’s choices, alongside their reasoning, on 1.cc before revealing the winners for each category on December 19.
There is a public vote too. We will be asking you to select your Ride of the Year and 1 Photograph of the Year from shortlists, to be published soon.
2014 1 Awards: The Categories
Rider of the Year
Stage Race of the Year
One-Day Race of the Year
Best Team
Best Young Rider (Under 25)
Domestique of the Year
Most Attacking Rider
Directeur Sportif of the Year
The Panel
Sean Kelly is a heavyweight of the sport. The Irishman won Paris-Roubaix twice, Milan-Sanremo twice, Liège-Bastogne-Liège, the Tour of Lombardy and four Tour de France points jerseys among many other victories. As a commentator for British Eurosport on all three Grand Tours, amongst other races, he is known for his shrewd observations on the sport.
Read a selection of Sean’s winners here.
Jens Voigt retired this year after an 18-year career in professional cycling. Known for his time-trial ability, brave breakaways and effervescent personality, the German won stages of the Tour de France and Giro d’Italia and also held the Hour Record.
Read some of Jens’s selections here.
Jonathan Vaughters is the CEO of WorldTour team Garmin-Sharp. He raced for the likes of US Postal and Crédit Agricole in his professional career before setting up his own team in 2005.
Read some of Vaughters’s votes here.
Juan Antonio Flecha is a Spanish former professional cyclist. A Tour de France stage winner, he adored the cobbled races of Flanders and northern France, winning Het Nieuwsblad and twice finishing on the podium at Paris-Roubaix.
Juan Antonio Flecha’s selection will be published on December 18. 
Allan Peiper is performance director for the BMC Racing Team. He was one of the most reliable domestiques in the 1980s bunch, winning a stage of the Giro d’Italia.
Read a seleciton of Peiper’s picks here.
10 is the Editor of 1. A lifelong cyclist, he has attempted most disciplines of the sport with unfailing mediocrity. He is now retired from racing and considering starting a Slow Cycling Movement.
Read some of Ian’s winners here.

Leave a Reply